How Anyone Can Use Hypnosis to Become Unstuck

We often forget that we’re in charge of our thoughts—even the habitual patterns that drive us nuts and drag us down are ultimately our doing. Hypnosis can help us take back control of our thoughts to break harmful habits and entrenched patterns. (Trying to quit smoking? See this goop piece.) “We spend a lot of time telling our brains what we can’t or shouldn’t do, and in doing so we create a lot of negative scenarios within our thoughts,” hypnosis practitioner Morgan Yakus explains. Yakus’ work focuses her clients on identifying the thoughts that trip them up (whatever they may be, from specific fears to chronic stress), realizing the person they could be if those thoughts/blocks were removed, and then actually knocking down their negative thoughts and images to become that best version of themselves. Staffers who have had sessions with Yakus—where you remain awake the whole time through a period of what feels like guided meditation—say the experience transformed them.

Yakus is no stranger to transformation herself. Her first career was in fashion—as a stylist, and co-founder and owner for nine years of the beloved No.6 Store in NYC—before she became a certified hypnotist and holistic health coach (she puts her herbal wisdom to use in a Mobile Tonic Bar, which you book for events). Here, Yakus explains the power of hypnosis to shift our point of view and give us the confidence to be ourselves—while offering solid, simple tips that anyone can use to get unstuck.

A Q&A with Morgan Yakus

Q

What issues/conditions is hypnosis most effective at treating? What are most of your clients looking for help with?

A

Hypnosis can be applied to anything that holds you back from being your true self: When I work with clients, I primarily combine conversational hypnosis with NLP (neuro-linguistic programming), along with a few other tools like tapping. I work with clients on weight loss, fears, stress, phobias, and habits on a daily basis. Below every one of these blocks is the need for confidence, support, trust in ourselves and others—to know that we are safe. I guide clients through techniques to change the images or audio that may be blocking them—that their subconscious may be referencing over and over. Hypnosis can work with any block or fear to help bring about closure, ease pain from trauma and abuse, change a person’s view around money and success, open up intuition, streamline decision-making, and create more confidence, balance, flow, and calm in daily life.

Q

What effect does hypnosis have on the brain? Why does it work?

A

Neuroplasticity is the ability of the brain to allow us to learn and adapt to our environment. Scientists who have been studying the brain now have a more in-depth understanding of the brain’s neuroplasticity, and how it works: We know that through our cognitive practice, we can shift our thinking.

Research shows we can actively affect how our brains rewire themselves to create new neural networks and override preexisting ones. During hypnosis, we’re able to access our own neural networks and neurons, and let the subconscious know we don’t need a particular habit anymore. We can communicate to ourselves what habit we would like to create instead; neuroplasticity allows us to do this, rewiring the neurons.

When we are experiencing a block in our lives, particular neural networks light up. Neuroplasticity can be created by interrupting those networks with positive new thoughts and visuals. The idea is that the brain reframes the block and begins to create new audio and visuals the next time the trigger for the block appears.

“Research shows we can actively affect how our brains rewire themselves to create new neural networks and override preexisting ones.”

In tandem with hypnosis, I teach my clients neuro-linguistic programming (NLP) tools, interruption techniques, and self-hypnosis so they can navigate their everyday life smoothly after a session. [See examples below.] NLP is a method of influencing brain behavior, through the use of language and other types of communication, to enable a person to recode the way the brain responds to stimuli, and manifest new and better behaviors. NLP often incorporates hypnosis and self-hypnosis to help achieve the change (or “programming”) that is wanted.

It’s work and a process that takes place over time. Eventually, clients find themselves living in a new pattern, which is further strengthened as they consciously work to change their thinking around a particular issue. Through this cognitive work, neural networks change, resulting in a different, healthier response to a particular situation.

Q

What are the tools from your practice that anyone could benefit from incorporating into their lives?

A

In my experience, if someone is stuck, it’s because they are thinking about the past or writing a story about the future and they are not in the present moment. Interruption can be the best tool, and that can be done with simple techniques such as NLP, breath exercise, visualization, or self hypnosis. 

Pattern Interruption

Pattern interruption is the best option in any situation for stopping a negative pattern, loop, or thought. Interrupt yourself right away by creating the opposite positive audio, image, or movie: Take a walk around the block, drink some water, and/or take five deep breaths. While you’re doing that, create the positive version of the image or audio in your mind. Any of the below can be used as a pattern interrupt. 

Turn Your Negative Image Into a Funny Cartoon

For example, if there is a person that makes you uncomfortable, turn them into a silly cartoon—this will shrink down and dissolve your discomfort. Just the idea of it can make you laugh/lighten, and your brain will reference the person differently next time. 

Create a Positive Outcome in Your Mind

If you’re nervous about a future situation, visualize yourself going through that situation in an optimal state and experiencing a positive outcome. If an activity or task feels daunting, imagine completing that task in a positive state/with a positive outcome. This activity gives your brain a visual to follow. 

Stay Current

Stay in the present, and respond from where you are in that moment. Don’t visit negative past situations, as that brings up old neural networks and causes stress. Design only positive future scenarios: You haven’t arrived in the future yet, so you might as well design something positive. 

Positive Self-Talk

Tell your brain the positive version of what you would like it to do. If you’re feeling negative or stressed, most likely you have been creating negative thoughts. Talk to yourself in the same way in which you would talk to a friend, family member, or a partner. 

Turn It Down

If there is a loud or negative audio, imagine it being controlled by a switch in your mind and see yourself turning it down, off, or dissolving it. Sounds silly, but it can work in under 10 seconds.

Question Yourself

Ask what you might need in that moment to make a shift into a happier place. Usually your mind will present an answer. 

Self-Hypnosis

Try an active meditation, like this one, to show the mind what you would like to create.

Dance to Your Favorite Song

Dancing for even five minutes can create a positive shift in body, bringing in a new perspective. Plus, exercise is always good!

Q

What’s a typical hypnosis session like?

A

Every session is different, depending on the client’s needs. The time together is usually a combination of dialoguing, sharing tips, techniques, and hypnosis. I like to meet the client where they are (mentally and emotionally), hear and see where they would like to shift, asking questions like: “If that thing/block wasn’t there, how would you be as a person?” This helps me to understand where they would like to move toward. Most people haven’t seen the version of themselves (related to their particular issue) they would like to become.

The hypnosis is a dialogue between the client and myself—we focus on changing the blocks into resources. Hypnosis can be compared to an interactive guided meditation. It is a deep state of relaxation and a heightened state of focus (which is a theta state). It is designed as a shortcut to communicate with the subconscious mind using images, sounds, and feelings. The client is always aware and can remember everything. While many are blown away by the experience, clients say it’s not like what they have seen in the movies—most say it’s actually very relaxing. After, clients tend to feel more calm, balanced, free, and open.

Q

A lot of what you do is aimed at changing thinking patterns that underlie our emotions and behaviors. Can you talk about that more?

A

We spend a lot of time telling our brains what we can’t or shouldn’t do, and we create a lot of negative scenarios. Thoughts create chemicals in the body, which then have physical manifestations. When creating negative thoughts, images, and feelings, we instruct our brain to carry out negative actions.

You can use that same skill for good. You are actually in control, and when you talk to yourself positively, you can create positive outcomes in your mind, and the brain will start to work towards the state you desire. By having positive thoughts, visuals, and feelings, you can show your mind what you would like to create in any situation—and the body can follow. 

The first step when you experience a block is to ask yourself: Is this block visual (movie or image), audio, a feeling, or a combination?When you know the source, the block is easier to dissolve. Blocks are layered, like an onion.

“You are actually in control, and when you talk to yourself positively, you can create positive outcomes in your mind, and the brain will start to work towards the state you desire.”

For example, if a client has a phobia or fear, I ask them to walk me through what they see. Most times, they are creating a negative future outcome before it has happened: This negative future outcome has now shown the body a map of what it should be doing and how to be fearful or nervous. When the client thinks about the situation in the future, they will most likely be referencing that projected audio or visual that they’ve created.

Next, I ask them to go through the future experience again, step by step, but this time, turn the negative audio or images they usually see into positive audio/images. If they are referencing experiences from the past, these may have to be resolved first.

Say a client is nervous about a presentation at work, and imagines their colleagues sitting in the conference room, on their phones and not listening. I would ask the client to reverse what he/she had been seeing to create a positive version—to see themselves going through the presentation and feeling good about it after. This lets the brain know it’s safe to give the presentation and shows the body what state it should be in while that’s happening. The idea is that the brain will reference the new visual as opposed to the original, discouraging/demeaning one.

“In my field, we say neurons that wire together fire together, creating a tendency to fire together again, thus forming a habit or a loop.”

The last step is to reference the original issue and notice how it might feel different now.

By showing the brain what we would like to achieve in the future, the body can follow and feel more relaxed. In my field, we say neurons that wire together fire together, creating a tendency to fire together again, thus forming a habit or a loop. Which—thank you, neuroplasticity—means our brains are capable of change. Over time, the brain will change, and you can create the new patterns you want. When you shift your relationship to the environment, positive changes will occur.

How to Manifest Positive Outcomes When You Feel Stuck

If you are overwhelmed by a project, not feeling confident, have a fear of public speaking, nervous about going on a date, and so on—try the below: 

1. When the negative thoughts arise, take note of what you may be hearing and seeing.

2. Take those negative thoughts and images, and turn them into the positive version of how you would like to be in that situation. See yourself being confident, finishing the project, speaking in front of others comfortably, etc.

3.Focus on the positive version of yourself in the picture.

4.Imagine yourself jumping into that version of you. Take a deep breath. This will change your state and feelings in the body.

5. Ask yourself: What is the first step I need to take now to arrive at my new outcome? When you go step by step, focusing on one at a time, it helps the brain stay focussed, and allows you to better manifest positive outcomes and feelings.

Q

What kind of results do your clients typically see (and how many sessions does it take)?

A

There’s an amazing range. I have seen clients feel more free to be confident in any situation—i.e. at work, dating, social settings—successfully growing or starting their own business; having better relationships with loved ones; losing weight; finishing big projects; changing jobs; becoming happier and being present; experiencing a more positive view of the world. After the session, clients can focus on creating the outcomes they desire, as the “thing” that had been blocking them isn’t there any more.

Results can be very quick; in one to three sessions (in person or via Skype), people can make great strides, as long as they want to make a change and are proactively using the tools offered outside the sessions. Everyone has had a different set of experiences, which has led them to the moment when they enter my office. Talking to a client before helps me get an idea of what they want to work on and how many sessions they’ll likely need; some phobias, weight loss, or certain goals may take three sessions or more.

Q

You also do past-life regression—who is that for, and what should someone expect in a session?

A

PLR is a technique that uses hypnosis to recover potential memories of past lives or incarnations. A regression can spark creativity from images, story, and allot emotional access that has previously been locked. Anyone interested in past-life regression can enjoy and benefit from the experience. Sometimes, I may ask people to clear their issues via present-life hypnosis before we do the PLR, and examine issues they think were carried over from past lives. 

“A regression can spark creativity from images, story, and allot emotional access that has previously been locked.”

I was lucky to study with Dr. Brian Weiss who wrote the book Many Lives Many Masters. Over the years, I have developed my own PLR technique, where we might go through the key moments of several lives, or I may have clients bring questions, which allow them to move around through different lives and get information and resources that they need for this lifetime.

I actually think it’s better if there are no expectations—it makes it easier to relax and have the experience. I always say it’s like an IMAX for your mind because you are using the imaginative part of the brain to create the experience. No one session is alike, and with PLR, I never know where the adventure might lead!


WELL + GOOD / APRIL 2017

WELL + GOOD / APRIL 2017

If you’re trying to score a promotion or find love, there are a ton of wellness tools to help you get in the mindset to make that happen—like journaling, intention-setting, and prioritizing self-care. (Bath time FTW!)

But there’s another goal-getting strategy that could be a powerful complement to the usual suspects: hypnosis.

Okay, before you start picturing mind control and quacking like a duck, hear me out. Morgan Yakus, a practitioner of integrative hypnosis and past-life regression who sees clients in both New York City and Los Angeles, swears real-deal hypnosis isn’t that far removed from meditation. In fact, if you’ve ever gone to a group sit or tried out a mindfulness app, you’re already halfway there.

“Self-hypnosis is essentially a step beyond a guided [meditation] practice.”

“Self-hypnosis is essentially a step beyond a guided practice,” explains Yakus. “Instead of letting someone else lead you, you’re the driver—and you direct your mind to where it needs to be.” That’s the beauty of hypnosis, she says: Since you’re in charge, you can use the practice to achieve whatever you want.

Clinical studies indicate that the technique is especially effective for decreasing stress and anxiety, which will also help you in pretty much every area of life—whether that’s sleeping more soundly, gaining confidence at work, or getting over a breakup.

So how does it work, exactly? “We can actively override preexisting neural networks [in our] brains to create new ones during hypnosis,” Yakus says. (In layman’s terms, that means it helps create new thought patterns.) “A person can let the subconscious know they no longer need a habit. Then, they can let go of repeating that negative thought and feeling for good.”

So, how do you hypnotize yourself? And does it work? Keep reading for a 4-step guide—and find out what happened when I tried it.

How to hypnotize yourself

“There are so many uses for this technique: balancing the body, calming the mind, finding clarity in your life, or helping you visualize finishing a project,” says Yakus. It might take you a few tries to get the hang of self-hypnosis, but the expert swears there’s really no way to mess it up. “Be patient with yourself…and enjoy the process!”

Step 1: Find a quiet place and sit in a comfortable chair with your feet flat on the floor. Locate a spot above eye level to rest your eyes upon—this starts the relaxation process. Have a soft focus and take in the whole room without moving your eyes.

Step 2: Mentally state your goal. Why are you going into hypnosis, and what do you intend for your mind to do?

“I am going into this meditative state for the purpose of _____________ .”  (Examples: calming the mind, balancing the body, finding clarity, or working towards a goal.)

“During this process my mind will make adjustments so that _____________ occurs naturally and easily.” (Examples: a calm mind, a balanced body, clarity, a goal.)

Step 3: Repeat the following sentences to yourself as many times as needed to feel very relaxed. (At least four times.) The observations are all coming from what’s popping up in your imagination—no matter how weird or random it is, roll with it. Eventually, your eyes will want to close. Let them—that’s the whole idea.

“I am now aware that I see _________.” (Repeat four times, with a different visual observation each time.)

“I am now aware that I hear _________.” (Repeat four times, with a different auditory observation each time.)

“I am now aware that I feel _________.” (Repeat four times, with a different observations of how you feel right this moment each time.)

Step 4: Next, tell yourself how you want to feel when you complete the process and how long you wish to be in meditation. If your mind wanders, be an observer—and come out of the meditation whenever you’re ready.

“In 10 minutes, I’m going to feel __________.”  (Examples: calm, grounded, motivated, energized, balanced.)

While it may read like a lot of steps, when you’re in the moment it’s quite easy. It’s simply a tool to control your thoughts and shift your perception of a mood or event—and I should know, because Yakus led me through three rounds of self-hypnosis myself.

What it did for me

Before we began, Yakus had me chat about something that I wanted to work on. In my case? Feeling stressed about an influx of projects at work and letting the pressure affect my performance. As we went through the steps, she told me to imagine myself reacting in my normal way.

On the second round, she told me to envision myself acting the way I wish I would react and playing it out in my mind. On the third round, she told me to play out my “dream scenario” again, but for an extra couple of minutes. By the time we were finished, I had been sitting there for five minutes straight, without getting distracted, and I felt way more calm and ready to tackle the inevitable tension in a manageable way.

I was never “out,” as people in shady, quack-like-a-duck hypnotism sideshows are, so I never had to “come to”.

I was never “out,” as people in shady, quack-like-a-duck hypnotism sideshows are, so I never had to “come to”—in fact, I felt more focused and my mind was super sharp during and after the session. The process gave me an approachable and practical method of try to visualize and manifest my goals. And just like meditation, I can do it just about anywhere. (Translation: I’ll be adding self-hypnosis into my daily routine.)

So, next time you’ve got a major meeting with your boss or a nerve-wracking first date, you might want to try it out in your bedroom, on the subway (with noise-canceling headphones), or even in the office bathroom—no swinging pendulum required.


Leandra Medine | MARCH 16, 2017, MAN REPELLER

Leandra Medine | MARCH 16, 2017, MAN REPELLER

I Tried Hypnosis to Get Out of My Own Head

When you are suffering, you will do anything to make yourself heal, which is how I launched into an exhausting list of “self-care” practices that include herbal supplement consumption, adrenal testing, yoga, acupuncture, talk therapy, meditation and eating a banana everyday (apparently, it is mood lifting).

The problem with doing all these things when you’re a nervous person is that you’re a nervous person, so you apply the tendencies of your mind to these experiences and they become painstaking chores. You forget to take your herbs and feel like you have failed. You wake up and don’t want to meditate or go to yoga because you’d rather just sit at your computer with a BIG-ASS COFFEE that will definitely impact your adrenals, and you start to think that maybe you just don’t care enough about yourself. That maybe you don’t deserve to feel good.

So you keep working towards betterment, which is how I ultimately cherried my “healing” cake with hypnosis.

At the end of New York Fashion Week — specifically, two hours before the Thom Browne show on a Monday — I met with Morgan Yakus, a former East Coast stylist and shop owner who is now a bi-coastal certified hypnotist and generally compassionate person. I was vulnerable enough to not even consider the archetypal renderings of what it means to be hypnotized. Would she sit me on a sterile chair in front of a black seamless and dangle a yo-yo in front of my face until I genuinely started to believe that I was someone else? Right out of the gate, she explained that I wouldn’t feel like a different person at the end of the treatment. Then she asked why I’d come.

I told her I was sick of being a prisoner of my mind. I’d been holding on to my lost pregnancy like it was the sole defining trait of my identity and I couldn’t let go. That I didn’t want to let go because I feared I would never get pregnant again, that I’d never have another period. A broken loser who at best could muster vile jealousy towards any carrying woman and at worst, regretted waking up in the mornings.

She walked me through my childhood, asked a number of benign questions about how I was raised and where I was raised and how a whole bunch of hypothetical scenarios dealing in pregnancy made me feel. The questions were rudimentary — I felt like a kid learning how to express emotion — but I think their simplicity was precisely the reason I could let it hang out. There’s something about assuming the innocence of your child-self that makes thinking scary thoughts feel a little safer.

Following the inquiry portion of our session, she laid me down on a treatment table. I had a black towel over my head and was instructed to roll my eyes back and let them flutter until they felt the need to close. At this point, the questions progressed. We walked through a ton of shit — everything from my relationship with my mom to my favorite kind of breakfast. Over and over she asked if I was ready to let go; while she asked this question, I had to pay attention to four different sounds coming through the room. “Yes,” I kept telling her, as I heard the fan slow down then pick up, slow down then pick up. “Yes.”

It felt like 20 minutes but by the time she’d concluded our session, it had been close to two hours. I got up, rubbed my eyes, put my shoes back on, left, and felt exactly the same.

Granted, I was slightly tired (I’d definitely fallen into some version of a meditative state), but I was sure that if you’d have asked me to replay the miscarriage — sitting in that chair while my mother-in-law tried to console me — or the announcement of my best friend’s pregnancy, I’d cry. But my mind wouldn’t let me go there, so I didn’t bother trying to make it go there.

I went for dinner that night with a couple of friends. We were talking about life and work and love and food and one of my friends looked over at me in an intimate moment and said, “You know you’re going to be fine, right?” I looked back and said I was fine — like I meant it.

For a good number of weeks, I believed it. I barely thought about kids, I stopped calculating how old I would be by the time they reached their 20s, I had sex just to have sex — can you believe that? For pleasure. It was actually nice to hang out in my head again. I loved being there! People always say that when you stop thinking about it is when you get pregnant (a stupid thing to tell a heartbroken, desperate woman) and when my doctor called me following some blood tests to let me know that I still hadn’t ovulated, it felt like all the work had been reversed. Like the past several weeks were a trick. A joke on me. I was angry and comparative again. I wanted to grasp anything that could give me hope. The acupuncture, the energy healing, the supplements. So I did. When I could. And when I couldn’t?

I simply couldn’t. It didn’t make me a failure or indicate that I deserved to suffer. I just didn’t have time. For me, this has really been the magic of hypnosis. That I could genuinely stop thinking I am the greatest loser of them all, stop beating myself down so profoundly? That’s freeing.

I have since modified my “self-care” routine to the following:

+Breathing

+Blinking

+Anything else when I feel like it.

I don’t think I’m ever going to not want to be a mom, or that I’ll stop fighting either. I anticipate that the vile jealousy will get better but don’t expect that seeing other women effortlessly receive (conceive?) what I still have not will make me happy like everyone says it is supposed to. I know that’s a controversial thing to admit — it might make me sound bitter — but for right now, in this moment, it’s enough to acknowledge and allow that without hating myself. No judgement.

Collage by Maria Jia Ling Pitt; images by GraphicaArtis and Fox Photos/Hulton Archive via Getty Images. 


I’m writing to say thank you again for all the amazing self hypnosis tools you’ve given me this year. I recently did a quick hypnosis on myself and was astounded by the results. On Sunday I needed to be extra outgoing and chatty for an event. After doing the hypnosis, not only was I more of a social butterfly, but I truly enjoyed it - which has NEVER happened to my wallflower self before.
— WH

our body book (cameron Diaz) CHANGE YOUR THOUGHTS, CHANGE YOUR WORLD | AN IN-DEPTH INTERVIEW WITH HYPNOSIS & WELLNESS PRACTITIONER, MORGAN YAKUS BY MARITZA BUELVAS / NOVEMBER 2016 Thankfully there’s been a strong emphasis on the need for self-care in the media recently—extending way beyond the trending hashtag. More and more, our busy lives have mandated deep introspection to clear out nasty thoughts, decompress, and completely re-think how we deal with everyday stressors and personal mental blocks.  Getting unstuck is of the utmost importance at Our Body Book, so when we discover new, adaptable and approachable ways to deal with everyday #beautyblocks, we are keen on doing the sharing! Our joy stems from uncovering ways to increase optimal mental and physical wellbeing, and develop the internal beauty patterns to redefine and radiate. We understand that learning how to manifest positive intention helps breakthrough patterns of insecurity and anxiety especially when coupled with the tools we are about to learn about today. Recently, I had the pleasure of not only interviewing Hypnosis & Wellness Practitioner Morgan Yakus, but also experiencing an online hypnosis session with the very inviting hypnotist. Having been introduced to Morgan by our friends at CAP Beauty—where she is closing out a month-long residency—I was very intrigued by the powers of hypnosis and how it can help me through personal beauty barriers to deal with stress, anxiety and areas of “feeling stuck”. Personally, I’ve never been hypnotized and the timing for this introduction couldn’t have been more perfect. I suffer from occasional claustrophobia on planes and with a flight to San Francisco next month, the timing was truly sent from the heavens. Although I’m a pretty practical and composed individual in most instances, the thought of flying with just my little boy was starting to cause a tinge of anxiety.  Consulting with Morgan on a one-on-one online hypnosis session was not only calming, but reassuring as it left me with the skills to reign in my phobia and anxious thoughts. The tools she provides to achieve self-hypnosis are not only applicable to everyday life but also ideal for sleep deprived individuals such as myself.  Let’s delve a little deeper into Morgan’s world to discover her techniques to remove everyday #beautyblocks and expand on our self-care tool kit.   SPOTLIGHT INTERVIEW: MORGAN YAKUS TELL ME ABOUT HOW YOU GOT STARTED AS A HYPNOSIS & WELLNESS PRACTITIONER (AND HOW YOUR TRANSFORMATIVE PROCESS WORKS BOTH FROM A ONE-ON-ONE PATIENT STANDPOINT AND AS A VIRTUAL INSTRUCTOR? Since I can remember, I was always around the healing arts. My mom and her husband are Buddhist and have always been into nutrition and wellness, which influenced my interests and desire to help people, it has always been in the fabric of my life. I have always loved clothing, which lead me to explore the world of fashion. I knew at some point close to my 40’s I would change careers and help people, I just didn’t know how it would happen and what it would look like. If you told me I was going to be a hypnotist, I would have laughed. It was all a surprise, it started one day with an herbal tonic, about six years ago and kept going from there. When I had my first past life regression I had a profound experience. Becoming more curious, I read quite a few books, that’s when I decided to study and become certified in Past Life Regression with Dr. Brian Weiss who wrote the book Many Lives Many Masters. Through receiving present life hypnosis sessions, I experienced changes which I had been trying to unlock for a long time. I’m also trained as a holistic health coach and in green and Chinese herbs (by Ron Teeguarden). Looking back, each event and training led from one place to the next, and every moment has led up to now.  Every session is different, depending on the clients needs. I try to meet the client where they are, hear and see where they would like to shift too. The session focuses on the positive and where they want to be and how the client can get there. It is usually a combination of dialoging, sharing tips, techniques and trance work.  One to one sessions in person and virtual sessions are the same, all of my Skype clients have the same shifts as the in-person clients.  HOW DO YOU FIND PROFESSIONAL HYPNOSIS AND SELF-HYPNOSIS HELPS TO SHIFT NEGATIVE THOUGHTS AND LIFT EVERYDAY ROADBLOCKS WE HARBOR BOTH ON THE PHYSICAL AND MENTAL LEVEL? Hypnosis can be compared to an interactive guided meditation. It is a deep state of relaxation and a heightened state of focus, which is a natural state of mind (theta state). It is designed as a short cut to communicate with the subconscious mind using images, sounds and feelings. Scientists are studying the brain now more than ever, as the brain scanning technology has improved. Therefore, having a more in-depth understanding of Neuroplasticity and how it works. Neuroplasticity is the ability of the brain to allow us to learn and adapt to our environment. They know now, there is a direct link between our neural networks and through our cognitive practices we can shift our thinking.  Research has now shown we can actively affect how our brains can rewire themselves to create new neural networks and override preexisting ones. During hypnosis, the client is able to access their own neural networks and neurons, letting the subconscious know they don’t need the habit anymore. They communicate to themselves what they would like to create instead, this creates Neuroplasticity which rewires the neurons together. I teach my clients NLP tools, interruption techniques and self hypnosis so they can navigate smoothly, in their every day life.  The work continues to take place over time. Eventually, clients find themselves living in this new pattern. It is further supported when the individual is consciously working to change their thinking around a particular issue. Through this cognitive work, neural networks change resulting in a different, healthier response to a particular situation. CAN YOU EXPLAIN YOUR TOOLKIT OF TECHNIQUES FURTHER? HOW CAN OUR READERS BEST EMPLOY SELF-HYPNOSIS (ESPECIALLY AS BUSY NEWBIES)? ALSO, PLEASE EXPLAIN WHAT IS MEANT BY NLP AND THE POWER OF TAPPING. WE ARE VERY INTRIGUED BY THESE UNIQUE AND POWERFUL PROCESSES.  In my experience, if someone is stuck its because they are thinking about the past or writing a story about the future and they are not in the present moment. I encourage my clients to interrupt themselves, it can be with simple techniques such as NLP (Neuro Linguistic Psychology), breath exercise, visualization or self hypnosis.  Tapping (EFT – Emotional Freedom Technique) is another way to interrupt the brains old patterns and replace it with something positive. I usually use this technique when someone is upset or angry. After five min or less the whole state can change.  Definition of EFT: Tapping on “meridian points” on the body, derived from acupuncture, can release “energy blockages” that cause “negative emotions” I mix in NLP all through out working with the client to create a short cut techniques to shift images and sound bites in the mind into something more positive.  Self Meditation (self hypnosis): It is a step beyond listening to a meditation or being the observer. It is a technique that anyone can use to create positive feelings and shifts. The process tells your brain and body what you would like to create, all the while being aware of every moment you are creating. This meditation style technique can be used to reduce stress, feel more confident, sleep sounder, focus and become calmer and balanced in every day life, five minutes can be effective. “It’s helpful to see the situation going in a positive direction and outcome. It’s all in the commands we give ourselves, if we tell ourselves we can’t do something and there is a block, the body will follow. It’s all in the commands we give ourselves, if we tell ourselves we can’t do something and there is a block, the body will follow. Every thought creates chemicals and physical reactions within the body. When we talk to and encourage ourselves positively (as we would a friend, family or partner) the body creates positive shifts and outcomes.” HOW CAN WE BEST CREATE EVERYDAY PATHS OF INTENTION TO SHED THE #BEAUTYBLOCKS AND SELF-DOUBT WE SOMETIMES HARBOR AS WOMEN? CAN YOU PROVIDE EXAMPLES OTHER STUDENTS AND PATIENTS HAVE EMPLOYED FOR OPTIMAL SUCCESS? By using short cut techniques to interrupt the negative thought patterns and then creating a focus on positive outcomes, images and feelings of ourselves and with others. If it’s a past experience which is showing up as a visual, I usually suggest the client zoom it out and shrink it down, an audio loop, turn down the sound. This is an NLP technique which works quickly.  If they are stuck in the future “what if scenario,” its helpful to see the situation going in a positive direction and outcome. Its all in the commands we give ourselves, if we tell ourselves we can’t do something and there is a block, the body will follow. Every thought creates chemicals and physical reactions within the body. When we talk to and encourage ourselves positively (as we would a friend, family or partner) the body creates positive shifts and outcomes.  I teach my clients in workshops and my private practice techniques they can use in their daily life. We all have had an individual set of experiences and process information differently. I give each client different techniques depending on what they would like to create. There are so many techniques and self care rituals, it’s finding what works for you.  HOW CAN WE BEST ELIMINATE OR ALLEVIATE HARMFUL STRESSORS TO CREATE A HEALTHY AND MINDFUL MIND-BODY CONNECTION?  It’s really about one hour and one day at a time, connecting to the signals that our mind and body is showing us. There are so many techniques and self care rituals, it’s finding what works for you. We have all had a different set of experiences and process information differently. I think one of the best tools is an interruption technique. When the negative self talk occurs to interrupt the thoughts and either reverse them into positive thoughts or create a positive visual. Over time that will re-pattern the neural networks and show your brain the direction to move into.  HOW CAN WE USE SELF-HYPNOSIS TO TAP INTO INNER SELF AWARENESS AND HONE IN ON OUR OWN POWERFUL INTUITION? The gentle process that takes you into self meditation (as I like to call it) is very quick and can create an inner self awareness easily. Whenever we go into meditation or sit quietly, the mind will tell us what we need to know.  WHEN IT COMES TO MENTAL BLOCKS FOR EXAMPLE, I SUFFER FROM OCCASIONAL CLAUSTROPHOBIA WHEN IN TIGHT SPACES. WHAT USED TO BE A VERY INFREQUENT PHOBIA, ISOLATED TO FLYING (BUT NOT ON EVERY FLIGHT), HAS NOW BEGAN TO IMPACT MY LIFE ON A MORE ROUTINE BASIS AFTER BOTH OF MY PREGNANCIES. HOW DO I BEST MAKE THE MENTAL SHIFT TO BREAK FROM THIS ROADBLOCK TO AVOID FUTURE INCIDENTS AND/OR FREE MY MIND OF THE PHOBIA IF I FIND IT COMING ON? HOW CAN I EMPLOY SELF-HYPNOSIS OR PROFESSIONAL HYPNOSIS TO OVERCOME THIS PHOBIA? Visualize yourself going through the experience positively and arriving at your destination safely. This will show the brain it is safe and it should begin to shift. This visualization can be used for any experiences there is stress around which occur in the future. Hypnosis works great for phobias, the client can continue after to use the self hypnosis to reinforce the sessions.

our body book (cameron Diaz)

CHANGE YOUR THOUGHTS, CHANGE YOUR WORLD | AN IN-DEPTH INTERVIEW WITH HYPNOSIS & WELLNESS PRACTITIONER, MORGAN YAKUS

BY MARITZA BUELVAS / NOVEMBER 2016

Thankfully there’s been a strong emphasis on the need for self-care in the media recently—extending way beyond the trending hashtag. More and more, our busy lives have mandated deep introspection to clear out nasty thoughts, decompress, and completely re-think how we deal with everyday stressors and personal mental blocks. 

Getting unstuck is of the utmost importance at Our Body Book, so when we discover new, adaptable and approachable ways to deal with everyday #beautyblocks, we are keen on doing the sharing! Our joy stems from uncovering ways to increase optimal mental and physical wellbeing, and develop the internal beauty patterns to redefine and radiate.

We understand that learning how to manifest positive intention helps breakthrough patterns of insecurity and anxiety especially when coupled with the tools we are about to learn about today.

Recently, I had the pleasure of not only interviewing Hypnosis & Wellness Practitioner Morgan Yakus, but also experiencing an online hypnosis session with the very inviting hypnotist.

Having been introduced to Morgan by our friends at CAP Beauty—where she is closing out a month-long residency—I was very intrigued by the powers of hypnosis and how it can help me through personal beauty barriers to deal with stress, anxiety and areas of “feeling stuck”.

Personally, I’ve never been hypnotized and the timing for this introduction couldn’t have been more perfect. I suffer from occasional claustrophobia on planes and with a flight to San Francisco next month, the timing was truly sent from the heavens. Although I’m a pretty practical and composed individual in most instances, the thought of flying with just my little boy was starting to cause a tinge of anxiety. 

Consulting with Morgan on a one-on-one online hypnosis session was not only calming, but reassuring as it left me with the skills to reign in my phobia and anxious thoughts. The tools she provides to achieve self-hypnosis are not only applicable to everyday life but also ideal for sleep deprived individuals such as myself. 

Let’s delve a little deeper into Morgan’s world to discover her techniques to remove everyday #beautyblocks and expand on our self-care tool kit.

 

SPOTLIGHT INTERVIEW: MORGAN YAKUS

TELL ME ABOUT HOW YOU GOT STARTED AS A HYPNOSIS & WELLNESS PRACTITIONER (AND HOW YOUR TRANSFORMATIVE PROCESS WORKS BOTH FROM A ONE-ON-ONE PATIENT STANDPOINT AND AS A VIRTUAL INSTRUCTOR?

Since I can remember, I was always around the healing arts. My mom and her husband are Buddhist and have always been into nutrition and wellness, which influenced my interests and desire to help people, it has always been in the fabric of my life. I have always loved clothing, which lead me to explore the world of fashion. I knew at some point close to my 40’s I would change careers and help people, I just didn’t know how it would happen and what it would look like. If you told me I was going to be a hypnotist, I would have laughed. It was all a surprise, it started one day with an herbal tonic, about six years ago and kept going from there. When I had my first past life regression I had a profound experience. Becoming more curious, I read quite a few books, that’s when I decided to study and become certified in Past Life Regression with Dr. Brian Weiss who wrote the book Many Lives Many Masters. Through receiving present life hypnosis sessions, I experienced changes which I had been trying to unlock for a long time. I’m also trained as a holistic health coach and in green and Chinese herbs (by Ron Teeguarden). Looking back, each event and training led from one place to the next, and every moment has led up to now. 

Every session is different, depending on the clients needs. I try to meet the client where they are, hear and see where they would like to shift too. The session focuses on the positive and where they want to be and how the client can get there. It is usually a combination of dialoging, sharing tips, techniques and trance work.  One to one sessions in person and virtual sessions are the same, all of my Skype clients have the same shifts as the in-person clients. 

HOW DO YOU FIND PROFESSIONAL HYPNOSIS AND SELF-HYPNOSIS HELPS TO SHIFT NEGATIVE THOUGHTS AND LIFT EVERYDAY ROADBLOCKS WE HARBOR BOTH ON THE PHYSICAL AND MENTAL LEVEL?

Hypnosis can be compared to an interactive guided meditation. It is a deep state of relaxation and a heightened state of focus, which is a natural state of mind (theta state). It is designed as a short cut to communicate with the subconscious mind using images, sounds and feelings. Scientists are studying the brain now more than ever, as the brain scanning technology has improved. Therefore, having a more in-depth understanding of Neuroplasticity and how it works. Neuroplasticity is the ability of the brain to allow us to learn and adapt to our environment. They know now, there is a direct link between our neural networks and through our cognitive practices we can shift our thinking. 

Research has now shown we can actively affect how our brains can rewire themselves to create new neural networks and override preexisting ones. During hypnosis, the client is able to access their own neural networks and neurons, letting the subconscious know they don’t need the habit anymore. They communicate to themselves what they would like to create instead, this creates Neuroplasticity which rewires the neurons together. I teach my clients NLP tools, interruption techniques and self hypnosis so they can navigate smoothly, in their every day life. 

The work continues to take place over time. Eventually, clients find themselves living in this new pattern. It is further supported when the individual is consciously working to change their thinking around a particular issue. Through this cognitive work, neural networks change resulting in a different, healthier response to a particular situation.

CAN YOU EXPLAIN YOUR TOOLKIT OF TECHNIQUES FURTHER? HOW CAN OUR READERS BEST EMPLOY SELF-HYPNOSIS (ESPECIALLY AS BUSY NEWBIES)? ALSO, PLEASE EXPLAIN WHAT IS MEANT BY NLP AND THE POWER OF TAPPING. WE ARE VERY INTRIGUED BY THESE UNIQUE AND POWERFUL PROCESSES. 

In my experience, if someone is stuck its because they are thinking about the past or writing a story about the future and they are not in the present moment. I encourage my clients to interrupt themselves, it can be with simple techniques such as NLP (Neuro Linguistic Psychology), breath exercise, visualization or self hypnosis. 

Tapping (EFT – Emotional Freedom Technique) is another way to interrupt the brains old patterns and replace it with something positive. I usually use this technique when someone is upset or angry. After five min or less the whole state can change. 

Definition of EFT: Tapping on “meridian points” on the body, derived from acupuncture, can release “energy blockages” that cause “negative emotions”

I mix in NLP all through out working with the client to create a short cut techniques to shift images and sound bites in the mind into something more positive. 

Self Meditation (self hypnosis): It is a step beyond listening to a meditation or being the observer. It is a technique that anyone can use to create positive feelings and shifts. The process tells your brain and body what you would like to create, all the while being aware of every moment you are creating. This meditation style technique can be used to reduce stress, feel more confident, sleep sounder, focus and become calmer and balanced in every day life, five minutes can be effective.

“It’s helpful to see the situation going in a positive direction and outcome. It’s all in the commands we give ourselves, if we tell ourselves we can’t do something and there is a block, the body will follow. It’s all in the commands we give ourselves, if we tell ourselves we can’t do something and there is a block, the body will follow. Every thought creates chemicals and physical reactions within the body. When we talk to and encourage ourselves positively (as we would a friend, family or partner) the body creates positive shifts and outcomes.”

HOW CAN WE BEST CREATE EVERYDAY PATHS OF INTENTION TO SHED THE #BEAUTYBLOCKS AND SELF-DOUBT WE SOMETIMES HARBOR AS WOMEN? CAN YOU PROVIDE EXAMPLES OTHER STUDENTS AND PATIENTS HAVE EMPLOYED FOR OPTIMAL SUCCESS?

By using short cut techniques to interrupt the negative thought patterns and then creating a focus on positive outcomes, images and feelings of ourselves and with others. If it’s a past experience which is showing up as a visual, I usually suggest the client zoom it out and shrink it down, an audio loop, turn down the sound. This is an NLP technique which works quickly.  If they are stuck in the future “what if scenario,” its helpful to see the situation going in a positive direction and outcome. Its all in the commands we give ourselves, if we tell ourselves we can’t do something and there is a block, the body will follow. Every thought creates chemicals and physical reactions within the body. When we talk to and encourage ourselves positively (as we would a friend, family or partner) the body creates positive shifts and outcomes. 

I teach my clients in workshops and my private practice techniques they can use in their daily life. We all have had an individual set of experiences and process information differently. I give each client different techniques depending on what they would like to create. There are so many techniques and self care rituals, it’s finding what works for you. 

HOW CAN WE BEST ELIMINATE OR ALLEVIATE HARMFUL STRESSORS TO CREATE A HEALTHY AND MINDFUL MIND-BODY CONNECTION? 

It’s really about one hour and one day at a time, connecting to the signals that our mind and body is showing us. There are so many techniques and self care rituals, it’s finding what works for you.

We have all had a different set of experiences and process information differently. I think one of the best tools is an interruption technique. When the negative self talk occurs to interrupt the thoughts and either reverse them into positive thoughts or create a positive visual. Over time that will re-pattern the neural networks and show your brain the direction to move into. 

HOW CAN WE USE SELF-HYPNOSIS TO TAP INTO INNER SELF AWARENESS AND HONE IN ON OUR OWN POWERFUL INTUITION?

The gentle process that takes you into self meditation (as I like to call it) is very quick and can create an inner self awareness easily.

Whenever we go into meditation or sit quietly, the mind will tell us what we need to know. 

WHEN IT COMES TO MENTAL BLOCKS FOR EXAMPLE, I SUFFER FROM OCCASIONAL CLAUSTROPHOBIA WHEN IN TIGHT SPACES. WHAT USED TO BE A VERY INFREQUENT PHOBIA, ISOLATED TO FLYING (BUT NOT ON EVERY FLIGHT), HAS NOW BEGAN TO IMPACT MY LIFE ON A MORE ROUTINE BASIS AFTER BOTH OF MY PREGNANCIES. HOW DO I BEST MAKE THE MENTAL SHIFT TO BREAK FROM THIS ROADBLOCK TO AVOID FUTURE INCIDENTS AND/OR FREE MY MIND OF THE PHOBIA IF I FIND IT COMING ON? HOW CAN I EMPLOY SELF-HYPNOSIS OR PROFESSIONAL HYPNOSIS TO OVERCOME THIS PHOBIA?

Visualize yourself going through the experience positively and arriving at your destination safely. This will show the brain it is safe and it should begin to shift. This visualization can be used for any experiences there is stress around which occur in the future. Hypnosis works great for phobias, the client can continue after to use the self hypnosis to reinforce the sessions.


  VOGUE / SEPTEMBER 2016 Serenity Now! 5 New Age Healers on How to Avoid a Fashion Week Freak-Out 5. “Sandalwood has been used since ancient times and is said to have highly protective and grounding qualities and to calm the nervous system. Try a drop of the oil on each of the temples and the back of the neck. It feels lovely and smells woody and sweet. You could also burn a beautiful sandalwood candle before bedtime. Or if you can spare 90 minutes, immerse yourself in a flow tank. Lift Floats is a good one in Brooklyn, with 1,000 pounds of Epsom salt. This is one of my favorite things to do. A float is the equivalent of eight hours of sleep and three days of detox. The saltwater is purifying and the whole experience is incredibly grounding!” - Morgan Yakus  Hypnosis, Past-life Regression and Wellness Practitioner Photo: Steven Klein

 

VOGUE / SEPTEMBER 2016

Serenity Now! 5 New Age Healers on How to Avoid a Fashion Week Freak-Out

5. “Sandalwood has been used since ancient times and is said to have highly protective and grounding qualities and to calm the nervous system. Try a drop of the oil on each of the temples and the back of the neck. It feels lovely and smells woody and sweet. You could also burn a beautiful sandalwood candle before bedtime. Or if you can spare 90 minutes, immerse yourself in a flow tank. Lift Floats is a good one in Brooklyn, with 1,000 pounds of Epsom salt. This is one of my favorite things to do. A float is the equivalent of eight hours of sleep and three days of detox. The saltwater is purifying and the whole experience is incredibly grounding!”

- Morgan Yakus  Hypnosis, Past-life Regression and Wellness Practitioner

Photo: Steven Klein


THE THINKING CAP / CAP BEAUTY BLOG/ SEPTEMBER 2016 PHOTO BY JOHN VON PAMER INTERVIEW BY KERRILYNN PAMER We are thrilled to announce the start of the CAP Beauty Healing Arts Residency, providing access to the most profound and life-changing practices. At CAP we are always on the hunt for the most transformative treatments, the most radical healers and committed practitioners in the world. When we find them, we love being able to share them with our community. Our first resident, hypnosis practitioner Morgan Yakus, hails from the world of fashion and has since landed front and center in the land of self development and change work. Morgan is a modern hypnosis practitioner focusing on science based techniques and neuroplasticity to create positive change. And for the month of October, her services will be available to members of the CAP community Please share what you do.  Working, traveling, laughing, writing, playing in nature, eating whole foods and visiting the farmer’s market once a week, learning about new herbs and making molded chocolates. Teaching and helping people to understand themselves more through Hypnosis, Past Life Regression and as a wellness practitioner. Moonlighting as a hypnotic artist, creating environments through vibration and metaphor of the voice, while guiding them on an Astral Journey and to different  landscapes around the planet, comparable to an internal IMAX. Can you tell us a bit about your background and upbringing? I grew up between Brooklyn and LA, my Mom and her husband are Buddhists and have always explored nutrition and wellness, which influenced my interests and desire to help people. My Dad was a recording engineer in the music business, I saw some incredible records being made. It gave me a look through a door into a magical world, especially at a young age, and influenced my ascetics and love for music. My dad engineered most of Stevie Nicks solo albums, she was one of my earliest fashion icons!  I was in fashion for twenty years and in my fashion career I was fortunate to work in many aspects of the industry: runway shows in NY and Europe, press for Gucci, vintage inspiration for many well known designers, as a stylist on the Lauryn Hill Miseducation tour and later on I become a co-founder of the No.6 store in Little Italy, New York. Did your shift into the more esoteric realm of wellness happen gradually or over time? Was this always an interest of yours? Having been exposed to an esoteric realm of wellness since I was a child, it has always been woven into the fabric of my life. I’ve always been interested in furthering my study and practice of different modalities in the healing arts. A pivotal moment in my path, was when I was traveling through Southeast Asia and Australia for thirteen months in my twenties. The experiences I had brought my priorities and perspectives into focus. I knew at some point close to my 40’s I would change careers and help people, I just didn’t know how it would happen or what it would look like. If you told me I was going to be a hypnotist, I would have laughed. It was all a surprise. It started one day about six years ago with an herbal tonic and just kept going from there. When I had my first past life regression I had a profound experience. Becoming more curious, I read a lot of books and that’s when I decided to study and become certified in Past Life Regression with Dr. Brian Weiss who wrote the book Many Lives, Many Masters. Through receiving present life hypnosis sessions, I experienced changes which I had been trying to unlock for a long time. I’m also trained as a holistic health coach and in green and Chinese herbs (by Ron Teeguarden). Looking back, each event and training led from one place to the next, and every moment led up to now. You came from the world of fashion and landed front and center in the land of self development and change work. We refer to these people (including myself!) as fashion refugees. Why do you think so many make the move from fashion to wellness? There is an undeniable exodus, but to be honest I haven’t figured out the correlation yet. What does your process, and a session with you, look like? Every session is different, depending on the what  the client needs. I try to meet the client where they are, and hear and see where they would like to shift to. The session focuses on the positive and where they want to be and how to get there. It is usually a combination of dialogue, sharing tips, techniques and trance work. What does a day in your life look like? Each day is dynamic, I’m usually working on workshops, hypnotic art projects and meeting with private clients in person and over Skype or traveling. I always start my day with an herbal tonic and it usually includes Cacao, American Ginseng, some protein powder and maple syrup. I aim to create a balance between work, fun and travel. What are some common misconceptions about hypnosis? OH lets see, unfortunately there are so many! – You are not in control. False – You will go “under”. False – You will do or say something ridiculous. False – You cannot be hypnotized. False (everyone is in hypnosis, all throughout the day) Hypnosis goes back as far as ancient Egypt and Greece and was used in the sleeping temples to help people heal. These temples were originally regarded as healing places to access a trancelike state of meditation optimal for reaching higher states of consciousness. Inside the sleep temples participants would chant, dream, meditate and listen, finding cures, solutions and reprieve from a variety of ailments. Hypnosis is a state of focus known as the theta state. This state is experienced every night before sleep by everyone. It is the place where people report receiving many insights. We are in hypnosis multiple times during the day, as it is a state of focus. Some examples of the hypnosis state are watching a movie, TV, writing or looking at your phone. When you see people walking down the street intently looking at their phones and they almost bump into you. That is hypnosis. In this state you are fully in control and aware of every moment you are creating. If someone asked you would you want to feel in balance with your surroundings and yourself, calm and lighter, would you say no? That’s what I have felt after a session and what my clients have described. Why and how does hypnosis work? Hypnosis can be compared to an interactive guided meditation. It is deep state of relaxation and a heightened state of focus, which is a natural state of mind (theta state). It is designed as a shortcut to communicate with the subconscious mind using images, sounds and feelings. Scientists are studying the brain now more than ever, as the brain scanning technology has improved and we have a more thorough and in depth understanding of neuroplasticity, which is the brain’s ability to learn and adapt to our environment.  They now know that there is a direct link between our neural networks and by developing our cognitive practices we can shift our thinking. Research has shown we can actively effect how our brains rewire themselves creating new neural networks and overriding existing ones. During hypnosis, the client is able to access their own neural networks and neurons, letting the subconscious know that they don’t need the habit anymore. They communicate to themselves what they would like to create instead and this creates neuroplasticity rewiring the neurons together. I teach my clients NLP tools, interruption techniques and self hypnosis so they can manage their everyday life smoothly. The work continues to take place over time. Eventually, clients find themselves living in this new pattern. It is further supported when the individual is consciously working to change their thinking around a particular issue. Through this cognitive work, neural networks change resulting in a different, healthier response to a particular situation. How often do you recommend doing it? Each person is different with their own individual set of experiences. A common thread between all of us is that we want to experience our own version of happiness and balance in life. In my opinion, from working with many clients and groups, what is happening is that the brain develops a pattern to adapt to an environment at some point earlier in their life. As the years go on their environment, relationships and location change, but the same patterns continue to reoccur. These patterns aren’t needed anymore as their environment has changed. This is why it’s a great tool to help the client create new positive patterns (neuroplasticity) which relates to where they are now and where they plan to go in the future. In terms of how many sessions each client may need, it varies. In general, if a client wants to work on a few things I recommend beginning with three sessions and assessing from there.  They can follow up six months to a year later to work on something else. If someone is stuck, what practices do you think are important for creating shifts? If someone is stuck it’s because they are thinking about the past or future and they are not in the present. I encourage my clients to interrupt themselves, it can be a simple NLP or breath exercise or visualization. If a past experience is on a loop in your mind, I suggest zooming out the visual and shrinking it down and or turning down the sound on the audio. If they’re stuck in the future “what if scenario, it’s helpful to see the situation going in a positive direction and outcome. When we talk to and encourage ourselves positively (as we would with a friend, family member or partner) the body creates more positive shifts. Every thought creates chemicals and physical reactions within the body. Please share three self care rituals you believe in practicing.  – Smiling. It creates good chemicals in the body. – Massage, acupuncture, salt water floating (ocean, tub, float tank) and movement. – Talking to the self positively. What books are on your nightstand?  The Holographic Universe. Michael Talbot How Your Unconscious Mind Rules Your Behavior. Leonard Mlodinow Animal Speak. Ted Andrews The Hare Krishna Book of Vegetarian Cooking (circa 1984). Adiraja Dasa Do you have any morning rituals?  Morning tonics, writing 3 pages or for ten minutes, meditation or self hypnosis and listening to music while getting ready for the day. Do you have any evening rituals?  Reading, saging, burning moxa (mugwort) on different points of the body and self hypnosis. What’s your favorite quote? “Change your thoughts and change your world” Norman Vincent Peale

THE THINKING CAP / CAP BEAUTY BLOG/ SEPTEMBER 2016

PHOTO BY
JOHN VON PAMER
INTERVIEW BY
KERRILYNN PAMER

We are thrilled to announce the start of the CAP Beauty Healing Arts Residency, providing access to the most profound and life-changing practices. At CAP we are always on the hunt for the most transformative treatments, the most radical healers and committed practitioners in the world. When we find them, we love being able to share them with our community.

Our first resident, hypnosis practitioner Morgan Yakus, hails from the world of fashion and has since landed front and center in the land of self development and change work. Morgan is a modern hypnosis practitioner focusing on science based techniques and neuroplasticity to create positive change. And for the month of October, her services will be available to members of the CAP community

Please share what you do. 

Working, traveling, laughing, writing, playing in nature, eating whole foods and visiting the farmer’s market once a week, learning about new herbs and making molded chocolates. Teaching and helping people to understand themselves more through Hypnosis, Past Life Regression and as a wellness practitioner. Moonlighting as a hypnotic artist, creating environments through vibration and metaphor of the voice, while guiding them on an Astral Journey and to different  landscapes around the planet, comparable to an internal IMAX.

Can you tell us a bit about your background and upbringing?

I grew up between Brooklyn and LA, my Mom and her husband are Buddhists and have always explored nutrition and wellness, which influenced my interests and desire to help people. My Dad was a recording engineer in the music business, I saw some incredible records being made. It gave me a look through a door into a magical world, especially at a young age, and influenced my ascetics and love for music. My dad engineered most of Stevie Nicks solo albums, she was one of my earliest fashion icons!  I was in fashion for twenty years and in my fashion career I was fortunate to work in many aspects of the industry: runway shows in NY and Europe, press for Gucci, vintage inspiration for many well known designers, as a stylist on the Lauryn Hill Miseducation tour and later on I become a co-founder of the No.6 store in Little Italy, New York.

Did your shift into the more esoteric realm of wellness happen gradually or over time? Was this always an interest of yours?

Having been exposed to an esoteric realm of wellness since I was a child, it has always been woven into the fabric of my life. I’ve always been interested in furthering my study and practice of different modalities in the healing arts. A pivotal moment in my path, was when I was traveling through Southeast Asia and Australia for thirteen months in my twenties. The experiences I had brought my priorities and perspectives into focus. I knew at some point close to my 40’s I would change careers and help people, I just didn’t know how it would happen or what it would look like. If you told me I was going to be a hypnotist, I would have laughed. It was all a surprise. It started one day about six years ago with an herbal tonic and just kept going from there. When I had my first past life regression I had a profound experience. Becoming more curious, I read a lot of books and that’s when I decided to study and become certified in Past Life Regression with Dr. Brian Weiss who wrote the book Many Lives, Many Masters. Through receiving present life hypnosis sessions, I experienced changes which I had been trying to unlock for a long time. I’m also trained as a holistic health coach and in green and Chinese herbs (by Ron Teeguarden). Looking back, each event and training led from one place to the next, and every moment led up to now.

You came from the world of fashion and landed front and center in the land of self development and change work. We refer to these people (including myself!) as fashion refugees. Why do you think so many make the move from fashion to wellness?

There is an undeniable exodus, but to be honest I haven’t figured out the correlation yet.

What does your process, and a session with you, look like?

Every session is different, depending on the what  the client needs. I try to meet the client where they are, and hear and see where they would like to shift to. The session focuses on the positive and where they want to be and how to get there. It is usually a combination of dialogue, sharing tips, techniques and trance work.

What does a day in your life look like?

Each day is dynamic, I’m usually working on workshops, hypnotic art projects and meeting with private clients in person and over Skype or traveling. I always start my day with an herbal tonic and it usually includes Cacao, American Ginseng, some protein powder and maple syrup. I aim to create a balance between work, fun and travel.

What are some common misconceptions about hypnosis?

OH lets see, unfortunately there are so many!

– You are not in control. False

– You will go “under”. False

– You will do or say something ridiculous. False

– You cannot be hypnotized. False (everyone is in hypnosis, all throughout the day)

Hypnosis goes back as far as ancient Egypt and Greece and was used in the sleeping temples to help people heal. These temples were originally regarded as healing places to access a trancelike state of meditation optimal for reaching higher states of consciousness. Inside the sleep temples participants would chant, dream, meditate and listen, finding cures, solutions and reprieve from a variety of ailments. Hypnosis is a state of focus known as the theta state. This state is experienced every night before sleep by everyone. It is the place where people report receiving many insights.

We are in hypnosis multiple times during the day, as it is a state of focus. Some examples of the hypnosis state are watching a movie, TV, writing or looking at your phone. When you see people walking down the street intently looking at their phones and they almost bump into you. That is hypnosis. In this state you are fully in control and aware of every moment you are creating. If someone asked you would you want to feel in balance with your surroundings and yourself, calm and lighter, would you say no? That’s what I have felt after a session and what my clients have described.

Why and how does hypnosis work?

Hypnosis can be compared to an interactive guided meditation. It is deep state of relaxation and a heightened state of focus, which is a natural state of mind (theta state). It is designed as a shortcut to communicate with the subconscious mind using images, sounds and feelings. Scientists are studying the brain now more than ever, as the brain scanning technology has improved and we have a more thorough and in depth understanding of neuroplasticity, which is the brain’s ability to learn and adapt to our environment.  They now know that there is a direct link between our neural networks and by developing our cognitive practices we can shift our thinking.

Research has shown we can actively effect how our brains rewire themselves creating new neural networks and overriding existing ones. During hypnosis, the client is able to access their own neural networks and neurons, letting the subconscious know that they don’t need the habit anymore. They communicate to themselves what they would like to create instead and this creates neuroplasticity rewiring the neurons together. I teach my clients NLP tools, interruption techniques and self hypnosis so they can manage their everyday life smoothly.

The work continues to take place over time. Eventually, clients find themselves living in this new pattern. It is further supported when the individual is consciously working to change their thinking around a particular issue. Through this cognitive work, neural networks change resulting in a different, healthier response to a particular situation.

How often do you recommend doing it?

Each person is different with their own individual set of experiences. A common thread between all of us is that we want to experience our own version of happiness and balance in life. In my opinion, from working with many clients and groups, what is happening is that the brain develops a pattern to adapt to an environment at some point earlier in their life. As the years go on their environment, relationships and location change, but the same patterns continue to reoccur. These patterns aren’t needed anymore as their environment has changed. This is why it’s a great tool to help the client create new positive patterns (neuroplasticity) which relates to where they are now and where they plan to go in the future. In terms of how many sessions each client may need, it varies. In general, if a client wants to work on a few things I recommend beginning with three sessions and assessing from there.  They can follow up six months to a year later to work on something else.

If someone is stuck, what practices do you think are important for creating shifts?

If someone is stuck it’s because they are thinking about the past or future and they are not in the present. I encourage my clients to interrupt themselves, it can be a simple NLP or breath exercise or visualization. If a past experience is on a loop in your mind, I suggest zooming out the visual and shrinking it down and or turning down the sound on the audio. If they’re stuck in the future “what if scenario, it’s helpful to see the situation going in a positive direction and outcome. When we talk to and encourage ourselves positively (as we would with a friend, family member or partner) the body creates more positive shifts. Every thought creates chemicals and physical reactions within the body.

Please share three self care rituals you believe in practicing. 

– Smiling. It creates good chemicals in the body.

– Massage, acupuncture, salt water floating (ocean, tub, float tank) and movement.

– Talking to the self positively.

What books are on your nightstand? 

The Holographic Universe. Michael Talbot

How Your Unconscious Mind Rules Your Behavior. Leonard Mlodinow

Animal Speak. Ted Andrews

The Hare Krishna Book of Vegetarian Cooking (circa 1984). Adiraja Dasa

Do you have any morning rituals? 

Morning tonics, writing 3 pages or for ten minutes, meditation or self hypnosis and listening to music while getting ready for the day.

Do you have any evening rituals? 

Reading, saging, burning moxa (mugwort) on different points of the body and self hypnosis.

What’s your favorite quote?

“Change your thoughts and change your world” Norman Vincent Peale


ELLE UK, MAGAZINE AUGUST 2016


Morgan's healing work is an extension of her curious, open heart and nurturing demeanor with both psyche and soma.

She is a channel of intuition and wisdom, constantly seeking further education to assist her clients on a personal level, while carrying a sagacious understanding that each person has a unique set of challenges that need tending to. Morgan meets her clients where they are, and offers guidance and insightful questions without an agenda. With a multifaceted array of modalities from Akashic records to hypnosis to past life regressions, a hidden perspective will be revealed from a session with her. She is a true alchemist when it comes to her mouth watering tonics, too! - Dana Kline, Depth Psychotherapist.


FREE + NATIVE June 14, 2016 Early last week I had the honor of a hypnosis session with Morgan Yakus. I've had hypnosis on my list for quite a bit. And as fate and The Universe would have it, it directly aligned me with this powerful lady. From co-founding No.6 Store to moving towards her talent in healing work, she's miraculous at anything she does.  Prior to our session, I'd been really taking self-inventory of how hard it is for me to communicate openly, consciously, and lovingly while remaining neutral and receptive when I'm feeling activated by emotion. It's also hard for me to set boundaries via communication as I'd normally set them by actions. It's no wonder that neither of my parents were taught how to identify their feelings nor how to communicate them effectively, therefor neither was I, so that was the focal point of our session. She took me into trance, which felt very similar to a guided meditation. I even remember thinking at the time, 'I'm totally aware. Oh no, maybe it's not working on me.' But once she brought me out, I could hardly function. It felt like my brain had undergone a massage, literally. It took me about 30 minutes before I operated totally normal.  The next few evenings I had really potent and interesting dreams on loop, so I knew something was going on in there.  Then my first moment of activation arose four days later.  Where I'd usually sweep my feelings under the rug, allow them to pile up, then later communicate with passive-aggressive behavior, my VERY first instinct was to remain calm. And then out of nowhere all the open, clear, and truthful words formed in my head and flowed effortlessly from my mouth. I also found myself incredibly calm, non-judgemental nor defensive towards the other person, and really heard their side of the story.   There I was, at thirty-one, consciously communicating. Like a kid that finally overcomes a stutter, I've been consciously communicating absolutely anywhere applicable since. I'm totally equal parts baffled and grateful. New favorite thing, getting hypnotized!!!! CONTINUED

FREE + NATIVE

June 14, 2016

Early last week I had the honor of a hypnosis session with Morgan Yakus. I've had hypnosis on my list for quite a bit. And as fate and The Universe would have it, it directly aligned me with this powerful lady. From co-founding No.6 Store to moving towards her talent in healing work, she's miraculous at anything she does. 

Prior to our session, I'd been really taking self-inventory of how hard it is for me to communicate openly, consciously, and lovingly while remaining neutral and receptive when I'm feeling activated by emotion. It's also hard for me to set boundaries via communication as I'd normally set them by actions. It's no wonder that neither of my parents were taught how to identify their feelings nor how to communicate them effectively, therefor neither was I, so that was the focal point of our session.

She took me into trance, which felt very similar to a guided meditation. I even remember thinking at the time, 'I'm totally aware. Oh no, maybe it's not working on me.' But once she brought me out, I could hardly function. It felt like my brain had undergone a massage, literally. It took me about 30 minutes before I operated totally normal. 

The next few evenings I had really potent and interesting dreams on loop, so I knew something was going on in there.  Then my first moment of activation arose four days later.  Where I'd usually sweep my feelings under the rug, allow them to pile up, then later communicate with passive-aggressive behavior, my VERY first instinct was to remain calm. And then out of nowhere all the open, clear, and truthful words formed in my head and flowed effortlessly from my mouth. I also found myself incredibly calm, non-judgemental nor defensive towards the other person, and really heard their side of the story.  

There I was, at thirty-one, consciously communicating. Like a kid that finally overcomes a stutter, I've been consciously communicating absolutely anywhere applicable since. I'm totally equal parts baffled and grateful. New favorite thing, getting hypnotized!!!! CONTINUED


OCTOBER 2015 COSMO ARTICLE - I GOT HYPNOTIZED TO BOOST MY CONFIDENCE AND FEEL LIKE A BOMBSHELL

OCTOBER 2015 COSMO ARTICLE - I GOT HYPNOTIZED TO BOOST MY CONFIDENCE AND FEEL LIKE A BOMBSHELL


I have had several sessions with Morgan. She is incredibly informative, understanding, encouraging and empowering. We’ve done Akashic readings and a past life regression session. She has helped with the process of clearing my past and finding my voice. Morgan has quite a gift and talent for helping people heal, see and live their truth. I’m grateful.
— Jennifer Stewart, reiki master, Brooklyn, N.Y.

For six months I met with Morgan every 2 weeks and it was like going into a cocoon and coming out a butterfly. Under her heart-full & wise guidance I learned about nutrition and herbs and other lifestyle skills that naturally boosted my energy level, mood, and tapped me back into my passion and creativity. Needless to say, she changed my life, and I recommend her to anyone who wants an expert guide and friend in transformation.
— Luke Simon, Healer

Morgan is an awesome practitioner, she coached me through a seriously uncomfortable skin and health issue with patience, wisdom and a really positive attitude. I felt super supported by Morgan making the changes she recommended that healed my issue completely.
— JC

I have had a few hypnosis sessions with Morgan Yakus and was really impressed with her 2-prong approach to her clients and their healing. On the one hand Morgan is an extremely intuitive and empathetic healer which puts her steps ahead of more clinical approaches. That along with the fact that she is really a creative problem solver with a background in small business means she can really feel and then hone in on how to work with individual’s issues and come up with real solutions both in-session and in life. I was also lucky enough to have a short Akashic records reading and I have never experienced anything like that before! I had really no idea what to expect and am a bit of a skeptic. I was so touched by the reading I can barely describe it in words! Thank you Morgan!!!
— Tessa

Mind Waves Hypnosis with Morgan Yakus is a transcendent experience. Every session left me feeling inspired and rejuvenated to my core. Morgan offers easy-to-use solutions for everyday issues big and small. Whether you’re combating a stressful job, self-image issues, past trauma, or just need to find some inner courage to kick-start a new project, this hypnosis workshop offers something very special for everyone. It’s a revolutionary way of taking control of your mind and of your life. I would recommend Morgan to anyone who wants to learn practical tools for creating your best self.
— Hayley Elisabeth Kaufman, writer + professional tarot reader, Brooklyn, NY

I found my hypnosis sessions with Morgan both beneficial and enjoyable. Morgan really takes the time to understand your issues and tailors the session for you. We also spent time discussing issues beyond hypnosis, and i found that helpful. Through her hypnosis I’ve been able to release a lot of suppressed emotions and let go of issues that had built up from a past relationship. Morgan is really is passionate about her work, and really cares about each client. a kind and warm practitioner!
— CS

When I began working with Morgan I knew I wanted to make changes to my diet and lifestyle, though I didn’t know what those changes were. After our first session, not only did I have concrete information on what to add and subtract, but I had direction and resources to use along the way. Working with Morgan changed the way I see health and educated me on the specific needs of my body. She provided constant support and specific information giving me greater context and understanding. Most importantly, along the way I’ve felt increasingly better and better. In short, I feel lighter and think clearer. Morgan’s integrative approach addresses not only the changes needed to make in diet and habits, but also provides tools of self-examination that provide connection and momentum along the way. Our work together has been a gift. Thanks Morgan!
— DR

Morgan is a gifted and intuitive healer. She is knowledgeable, gentle and extraordinary in her ability to help you get to your inner truth and potential. Her hypnosis work and healing remedies are specific, effective and have made a profound shift in my life forever.
— Alyssa D